hello,
I'm building an application were the user builds an application by a graphical design.
For the final application, the program generates a GUI, based on AUI,
like shown in the top picture here:
http://oase.uci.kun.nl/~mientki/data_www/python/pylab_works_tree.html
This gives the user the possibility to
re-arrange and resize the panes, when the user has finished this layout,
he presses a button, and the captions of the panes disappear,
the sizers get a width of zero (so they can't be touched any more),
and the application is ready.
Now the image is the layer 0 pane,
so when resizing the overall frame,
this image will resize and the width of the left panels is unchanged, which is good.
When changing the height of the overall frame,
the top pane (where the filename is), should remain it's definied height,
but I can not accomplish this (tried several things, but apparently not the right ones).
Is this possible with AUI ?
Or might it be better to generate a complete new window, without AUI ?
thanks,
Stef Mientki
Kirix Support Forums
How to fix size of certain panels
9 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
If I'm understanding this correctly, you should just specify Fixed() on the top left panel.
All the best,
Ben
All the best,
Ben
Ben Williams
Kirix Support Team
Kirix Support Team
-
Ben - Kirix Support Team
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:29 am
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
I tried setting Fixed(),
and I even checked with IsFixed() to see if the setting id done correctly,
but the 2 panels on the left keep scaled relative to each other.
(btw I'm using wxPython, could that be the problem ?)
thanks,
Stef
and I even checked with IsFixed() to see if the setting id done correctly,
but the 2 panels on the left keep scaled relative to each other.
(btw I'm using wxPython, could that be the problem ?)
thanks,
Stef
- aap
- Registered User
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 6:48 am
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
Ben wrote:If I'm understanding this correctly, you should just specify Fixed() on the top left panel.
All the best,
Ben
I'm having the same problem, one of my panes was supposed to have a min size, but when it reaches it the other panes simple push it. It was a centerpane that had the pane infoto be CenterPane()
I tried the Fixed() command, but it didn't work as well. I realized that in the auidemo was the same problem and one strange thing. When the pane was docked you couldn't resize it in one direction, but the other not, and when was floating you could resize in any direction but the window inside expanded only in one the rest was like it had nothing.
All the best,
TNC
- tncalucard
- Registered User
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:30 am
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
Hello,
The fact that with fixed panes you can't resize them in one direction, but still can resize the dock -- this is by design. It was decided that a fixed panel shouldn't penalize other panels on the dock. To solve this problem, recent versions of aui allow you to suppress the resize sash of an entire dock.
All the best,
Ben
The fact that with fixed panes you can't resize them in one direction, but still can resize the dock -- this is by design. It was decided that a fixed panel shouldn't penalize other panels on the dock. To solve this problem, recent versions of aui allow you to suppress the resize sash of an entire dock.
All the best,
Ben
Ben Williams
Kirix Support Team
Kirix Support Team
-
Ben - Kirix Support Team
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:29 am
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
Ben wrote:Hello,
The fact that with fixed panes you can't resize them in one direction, but still can resize the dock -- this is by design. It was decided that a fixed panel shouldn't penalize other panels on the dock. To solve this problem, recent versions of aui allow you to suppress the resize sash of an entire dock.
All the best,
Ben
Hi Ben,
what is the version of aui that supress this problem? where can i get it?
Thanks,
Bob
- bobcabeca
- Registered User
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:39 pm
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
It's included in the latest version of wxWidgets, 2.8.7.
Best,
Ben
Best,
Ben
Ben Williams
Kirix Support Team
Kirix Support Team
-
Ben - Kirix Support Team
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:29 am
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
Ben wrote:It's included in the latest version of wxWidgets, 2.8.7.
Best,
Ben
I already using this version, but i stil found this problem. I using this code:
- Code: Select all
auiManager.InsertPane(legP,wxAuiPaneInfo().Name(_("Leg")).Caption(_("Legenda")).Float().BestSize(wxSize(165,150)).Fixed()
.MinSize(wxSize(165,150)).DestroyOnClose(false).PinButton(false).CaptionVisible(true).Hide()
.FloatingSize(wxSize(165,150)).CloseButton(false).FloatingPosition(wxPoint(posx,posy)));
Thanks,
Bob
- bobcabeca
- Registered User
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:39 pm
Re: How to fix size of certain panels
Ok, The next step is to add the DockFixed() option to both panes. This is what I was referring to above.
All the best,
Ben
All the best,
Ben
Ben Williams
Kirix Support Team
Kirix Support Team
-
Ben - Kirix Support Team
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:29 am
9 posts
· Page 1 of 1
Return to wxAUI Questions, Thoughts & Feedback